Uncategorized

Why All The Hate? – how music occasionally brings out the worst in people.

image

Adele ’25’ – released November 20th 2015

Music should always be a safe place for fans and performers. In a perfect world, that would be the case but alas, the world is far from perfect.

Now, I don’t rant and rave very often but I have a minor dummy spit I’d like to share 😛

So, Adele’s ’25’ album dropped two days ago, and there have been mixed reviews.

Funny enough, the people with the most to say are those who haven’t listened to the album and instead find pleasure in spewing negativity about her, making fun of how ‘pop’ she sounds and also completely irrelevant — AND irreverent — digs about her personal appearance.

I felt compelled to write this today because some of the things I’ve read have been extremely disgusting and immature.

I won’t go into specifics of what I’ve read and heard, because I find the whole mentality despicable and unnecessary.

I mean honestly: is that the sort of the world we are living in, where all creativity and talent must be suppressed for fear of being condemned and ridiculed just for not LOOKING a certain cookie-cutter flawless way?

Nope, I’m not being butt hurt and biased because I’m full-blown obsessed with Adele. In all honesty, I haven’t heard the album because it’s not typically the music I choose to listen to, and when ’21’ was released 4 years ago, “Rolling In The Deep” and “Someone Like You” were. just. FLOGGED on the airwaves.

But that’s not her fault! She’s popular for good reason: you can’t deny she can hold a note, she stirs up more than one emotion, and she can certainly draw a crowd.

Its alright to have opinions, and to only be into certain types of music, but don’t be a dick about it! 😉

Keep personal insults at the door, and if you don’t like something, keep scrolling! Change the station! Flick to the next track! Block them so you don’t have to read about them!

No one is forcing you to agree with positive write-ups for musicians and bands, but why shoot down and stomp on those who DO enjoy the music?!

Adele is not taking accolades away from anyone else, and there’s more than enough to go around.

My Facebook page is always a negativity-free zone, and I intend to keep it that way.

Parting words for today, and my personal wish for all music fans: don’t let music fall into anonymity. Help the #rhythmofword thrive, share your favourite tunes and styles, love what you love & live and let live!

Rant over.

🙂

Leave a Reply

